Charity night HCPT sOver one hundred and forty people joined Bishop John Rawsthorne for the annual Hallam Charity Night, at the Double Tree Hilton Hotel, Chesterfield Road, Sheffield on 14 June.  The Dinner and Dance which raised £6000 also featured a Grand Draw, and an auction.  It was a lively and enjoyable evening.  On Sunday, 7 September Bishop Ralph presented the supported Charities; HCPT (Sheffield), LIFE (Doncaster), St Bernard’s School, Rotherham and the Hallam (Bethlehem) Fund with cheques.

Charity night Bethlehem fund sCharity night Life s

There was a Prize Draw in conjunction with the evening.  First prize of £1000 was won by a Sheffield lady who does not wish publicity and who generously made a donation to the evening.  The second prize of a holiday in an Austrian chalet was won by Dr and Mrs N Patel.  Other local prize winners received £250, a hotel break with dinner, bed and breakfast and a bottle of whisky.  The Committee wish to thank all who supported the draw.

Charity night St Bernard sThe next Diocesan Charity Night will be held in the Double Tree Hilton Hotel, Chesterfield Road, Sheffield on Saturday, 13 June 2015.  Diocesan Charities who wish to benefit from the event should, in the first instance, and before 14 January 2015, write to Mrs E Mason, Hon Secretary, Hallam Charity Night, The Presbytery, 34 Meadowhead, Sheffield, S8 7UD with details of the charitable cause they would wish to support and how any money made available would be used.

From top right Bishop Ralph presented cheques to:

Jo Turner and Olivia Milner, Sheffield HCPT representatives, £600, Mr Graham Smith, Hallam (Bethlehem) Fund Treasurer, Mrs Valerie Smith and Mrs Philomena McNally, Fund Trustees, £2400, David Matthews and Kevin Kerrigan, representatives of Life Doncaster, £600, Mr Terry Mahon, Headteacher at St Bernard’s Catholic High School, Rotherham with staff and students, £2400 for their Lesotho Project.

Charity night committee s

Pictured above are the Hallam Charity Night Committee with Bishop Ralph, L to R Kevin Kerrigan, Philomena McNally, Joe McNally, Bishop Ralph, Elizabeth Mason, Sandra Brinkley and Des Keating (Ralph Dickins and Eileen Kerrigan not present)